How To Reinstate a Suspended Arizona License

Do you need to reinstate your suspended Arizona drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.

Driving with a suspended Arizona drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Arizona license. Select from the options below to get started.

Sponsored Link Ad

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

Online application assistance can simplify the process for many MVD related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to the free forms and general instructions available from the MVD offices or websites, you will receive value added products such as a comprehensive Easy Guide containing information relevant to your service needs. Where possible, we will prepare your MVD forms and/or provide links to MVD online services. You will also receive 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the MVD in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local MVD.

3: Via a MVD office

If you prefer to access MVD services in person or your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at a physical MVD office location. Varying MVD offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the MVD closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your local MVD allows you to make a personal appointment. Read more below to see if an in-person visit is either preferred or required.




Your license may be suspended for a variety of reasons. Some situations are clear, while others are subtle, with some drivers unaware that their license is suspended at all. In this guide, you'll find information on the steps necessary to reinstate your Arizona driver's license, no matter what your violation was.

If you are cited for driving on a revoked or suspended license your vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 days.

Revocation

Revocation is the termination of your privilege to drive. Revocation is required by law upon conviction of certain driving offenses.

After your revocation period has ended, your driving privilege will remain revoked until an investigation of your driving record is completed, if applicable, and a new license is issued.

Suspension

Suspension is the temporary removal of your driving privileges. It is an action taken after a review of your driving record. Suspension differs from revocation, in that it has a definite beginning and end. After your suspension period has ended, your driving privilege will remain suspended until your application for reinstatement is approved.

Fees

Reinstatement Fees

Payment may be made by cashier's check, money order, or by credit card in some offices and online. Cash not accepted by mail. No personal checks accepted.

Application Fees

Age 50 and over $10

Age 45 to 49 $15

Age 40 to 44 $20

Age 39 and under $25

Contact the MVD at http://www.azdot.gov/mvd/contact.asp for information on Commercial Driver License Fees.

Driving Under the Influence - DUI

Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol will result in suspension of your driving privileges for a period determined by the number of similar violations and the time between violations. Those under the age of 21 will automatically be issued a two-year suspension upon conviction, along with possible additional penalties including fines and possible jail time.